Lord Shiva – Stories & facts about Shiva


Everybody knows that lord Shiva is ‘shakti’ or power. Shiva is the destroyer, the most powerful god of the Hindu pantheon and among the supreme god from the Hindu Trinity. Known by many names – Mahadeva, Pashupati, Mahayogi,  Nataraja, Vishwanath, Bhairava,  Bhava, Bhole Nath – Lord Shiva is perhaps the most complicated of Hindu deities. Hindus recognize this by putting his shrine at the temple different from those of other deities.

God Shiva the Enigmatic

In the Hindu mythology, Lord Shiva is the Destroyer and the most Crucial one in the Holy Trinity, the other two being Brahma the Creator and Vishnu the Protector. Lord Shiva has always mesmerised his followers by his Distinctive look: he has not two but three eyes, has ash painted all over his body, has snakes coiled up round his arms and head, wears tiger and elephant skin, leads a wild life in the cremation grounds far removed from social pretenses, and is recognized for his widely known anger.

Third eye of lord Shiva

Among the iconographical attributes that puts lord Shiva apart is the existence of the third eye on his forehead. Shiva’s third eye reflects the long run. Therefore He is viewed as the Lord of all three times — past, future and present. Also, while the 2 eyes endure for moon and sun, the next eye stands fo Agni or fire. He is portrayed wearing a snake named Vasuki, coiled around his neck; a crescent moon adorns his hair since Holy River Ganga flows out from his mind. The objects Shiva carries in his hands signify the five elements projecting the Lord as the Supreme head of creation.

how was Lord Shiva born?

One-day Brahma and Vishnu were arguing about which of these were stronger. This time one amazing blazing pillar appeared whose branches and roots stretched Beyond view to the ground and skies.

The Gods, Brahma and Vishnu Started to Learn the beginning And the conclusion of the pillar. Brahma turned into infantry and flew up to Obtain the Start looking for its origins. After being ineffective, the two came back and watched Lord Shiva Emerging with an opening at the pillar.

Recognizing Shiva’s excellent ability, they both accepted that There’s the third power that rules over the world. Very complex God with many roles and abilities.

108 names of Shiva

He’s known by Several names like  Sarveshwar, Neelkantha, Shiva,  Mahakaal, Shrikanth, Triolokesh, Gangadhar, Visveshwar, Tripurantaka, Mrityunjaya,  Sadashiva,Mahadev, Jatadhar, Shankar, etc.. Lord Shiva has over 108 names. Every one of Lord Shiva’s titles speak of his distinctive feature or a quality or a mythical event. Thus it’s extremely interesting to understand them and find out more about the significance behind His titles.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here